我们图书馆有更多新书

| 2020 年 10 月 6 日 | SFCD图书馆

我们收到了一些新书来评论这个博客。当我们重新开放时,它们将在图书馆中使用。

Fullpower双语安全漫画:卡通和基本语言中青少年和成人的人身安全, 通过艾琳范德赞德


fullpowerbilingual.jpg

这是英语(左侧)和西班牙语(右侧)的精彩。这是我们在 Kidpower 的朋友的出版物。图形插图清楚地为您提供了在受到威胁时做出反应所需的信息。读者遇到了一群不同的青少年和成年人,他们作为全能的朋友一起旅行。他们向您介绍他们不安全的真实情况,并教您如何保护自己。我喜欢关于意识、冷静和自信以及发展我的走开力量的部分。我还发现制定安全计划,如何摆脱困境,自卫技巧以及如何获得帮助非常有用。它进一步解释了网络安全、同伴压力和好朋友、坏朋友。这一切都是用英语和西班牙语并排完成的。

自闭症谱系障碍儿童生存指南 (和他们的父母),伊丽莎白维尔迪克和伊丽莎白里夫。


kidswithasd.png

这是一本结构良好的书,有一个目录。儿童介绍和成人单独介绍,附有附加重要信息的附录和按字母顺序排列的索引。这本书分为三个部分;第一部分介绍自闭症谱系障碍,第二部分解释你在生活中旅行时的行为,第三部分与你的身体和大脑功能有关。插图是展示熟悉经历的漫画。有很多关于自闭症儿童的列表、文本框、引用和真实故事。是的,我认为成年人会喜欢这本书并从中学到很多东西,应该和他们的孩子一起阅读。我知道我学到了很多,并期待阅读本系列中的其他内容。

我祖母的手:种族化的创伤和修复我们的心灵和身体的途径, 由 Resmaa Menakem


mygrandmashands.jpg

这本书是通过一个由前 SFCD 员工领导的图书讨论小组进入我的生活的。我不确定我会喜欢它。它是针对我们当前的历史和事件的。它是在包含治疗练习的章节中编写的。作者写这本书是为了解释我们的行为是如何由我们的历史决定的。它着眼于三个群体:白人、黑人和警察。作者试图调和这三个群体,以便他们可以治愈创伤并彼此和平相处。这本书让我思考了各种可能性。我觉得在小组中阅读效果最好,因为每个人都可以一起做练习并讨论他们的感受。我推荐它。  

-伊莱恩·巴特勒,图书管理员

More New Books in our Library

by | Oct 6, 2020 | SFCD Library

We were given some new books to review for this blog. They will be in the library for use when we reopen.

Fullpower bilingual safety comics: Personal Safety for teens and adults in cartoons and basic language, by Irene van der Zande


fullpowerbilingual.jpg

This is a wonderful in English (left side) and Spanish (right side) . It is a publication by our friends at Kidpower. The graphic illustrations are clear in giving you the information needed to respond when being threatened. The reader meets a diverse group of teens and adults, who travel together as the Fullpower friends. They introduce you to real situations they are not safe and teach you how to protect yourself. I liked the sections about awareness, calm and confidence and developing my walk away power. I also found the developing of a safety plan, how to escape from trouble, self-defense skills and how to get help as very useful. It further explains cyber safety, peer pressure and good friends, bad friends. This is all done in both English and Spanish, side by side.

The Survival Guide for Kids with Autism Spectrum Disorders (And Their Parents), by Elizabeth Verdick and Elizabeth Reeve.


kidswithasd.png

This is a well-constructed book with a Table of Contents. Introduction for Kids and a separate one for Adults, Appendices with additional important information and an Alphabetical Index. The book is in three sections; Part One introduces Autism Spectrum Disorders, Part Two explains behavior as you travel in life and Part Three relates to your bodily and brain functions. The illustrations are cartoons showing familiar experiences. There are lots of lists, text boxes, quotes and real stories of children dealing with autism. Yes, I think adults will enjoy and learn much from this book and should read it with their kids. I know I learned a lot and look forward to reading the others in this series.

My Grandmother’s Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies, by Resmaa Menakem


mygrandmashands.jpg

This book came into my life via a book discussion group, led by a former SFCD employee. I wasn’t sure I would like it. It is directed towards our history and events of our present time. It is written in chapters that include healing exercises. The author has written this book to explain how our actions are determined by our history. It looks at three groups: Whites, Blacks and Police. The author attempts to reconcile the three groups so they may be healed of trauma and find peace with each other. This book got me thinking about possibilities. I feel it works best when read in a group because everyone can do the exercises together and discuss their feelings. I do recommend it.  

-Elaine Butler, Librarian