盲文和有声图书图书馆 (BTBL)

| 2021 年 3 月 19 日 | 无障碍, 阅读障碍, 孩提时代, 教育, 特殊残疾

您的孩子是否难以阅读传统印刷材料?您的孩子会从另一种阅读方式中受益吗?

北加州盲文和有声图书图书馆 (BTBL) 提供免费的有声(音频)书籍和播放设备,以及杂志、报纸和盲文书籍。材料通过美国邮件交付或直接下载到智能手机或平板电脑。

谁有资格? 任何失明、视力低下或身体残疾或印刷障碍无法阅读传统印刷材料的人。要启动服务,BTBL 在我们的网站上提供了一个简单的申请表,供申请人(或其父母)填写并由认证机构签署。

谁有资格成为认证机构? 以下任何人:医学博士、骨病医生、眼科医生、验光师、心理学家、注册护士、治疗师,以及医院、机构和公共或福利机构的专业人员(如教育工作者、社会工作者、个案工作者、辅导员、康复教师、认证阅读专家、学校心理学家、主管或图书管理员。)

BTBL 热忱欢迎青少年读者。我们通过我们的上级组织国家盲人和印刷品阅读障碍者图书馆服务提供儿童区目录的访问权限,您可以在其中专门搜索幼儿园到青少年级别的书籍。 (有关教科书,请访问 学习盟友,为学生提供有声教科书的全国性非营利组织: https://learningally.org)。 BTBL 还发布了“对于年轻的读者” 目录和供应我们网站上的推荐阅读清单。欢迎所有年龄段的读者参加一年一度的暑期阅读计划,奖品很酷。

我们鼓励家长协助他们的孩子使用该服务。许多家长帮助他们的孩子通过 BARD Mobile 下载,这是一款可以获取有声读物和电子盲文的应用程序。下载没有限制,无需记住“归还”书籍,下载几乎是即时的,24/7 全天候可用。

BTBL 材料也可以在课堂上使用。有符合条件的学生的教师可以申请机构账户。使用机构帐户,可以将书籍直接发送给在课堂上照看的经过认证的学生,或者教室可以在教师的要求下注册发送给合格学生的书籍。

有兴趣了解更多信息吗? 旧金山居民,请访问旧金山公共图书馆的Talking Books and Braille Centre: https://sfpl.org/locations/main-library/talking-books-and-braille-center

你住在旧金山市外吗?请联系北加州盲文和有声图书图书馆: http://btbl.ca.gov

The Braille and Talking Book Library (BTBL)

by | Mar 19, 2021 | Accessibility, Dyslexia, Early Childhood, Education, Specific Disability

Does your child struggle to read conventionally printed material? Would your child benefit from an alternative way of reading?

The Braille and Talking Book Library (BTBL) of Northern California offers free talking (audio) books and playback equipment, as well as magazines, newspapers, and braille books. Materials are delivered by U.S. mail or downloaded directly to a smartphone or tablet.

Who is eligible? Anyone who is blind, low vision, or who has a physical disability or a print disability that prevents reading conventionally printed material. To start services, BTBL offers a simple application on our website for applicants (or their parents) to fill out and have signed by a certifying authority.

Who qualifies as a certifying authority? Any of the following: doctor of medicine, doctor of osteopathy, ophthalmologist, optometrist, psychologist, registered nurse, therapist, and professional staff of hospitals, institutions, and public or welfare agencies (such as an educator, a social worker, case worker, counselor, rehabilitation teacher, certified reading specialist, school psychologist, superintendent, or librarian.)

BTBL enthusiastically welcomes juvenile readers. We offer access to a Kid’s Zone catalog through our parent organization, the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled, where you can search specifically for books at a preschool through the Young Adult level. (For textbooks, please visit Learning Ally, a national non-profit that provides audio textbooks to students: https://learningally.org). BTBL also publishes a “For Younger Readers” catalog and supplies suggested reading lists on our website. Readers of all ages are welcome to participate in an annual Summer Reading Program with cool prizes.

Parents are encouraged to assist their children with using the service. Many parents help their children to download via BARD Mobile, an app where you can obtain audiobooks and electronic braille. There is no limit on downloads, no need to remember to “return” books, and downloads are virtually instantaneous and available 24/7.

BTBL materials can also be utilized in the classroom. Teachers with eligible students may apply for an institutional account. With an institutional account, books may be sent directly to a certified student in care of the classroom, or the classroom may register with books being sent to an eligible student at the request of the teacher.

Interested in learning more? San Francisco residents, please visit the Talking Books and Braille Center at San Francisco Public Library: https://sfpl.org/locations/main-library/talking-books-and-braille-center

Do you live outside of the city of San Francisco? Please contact the Braille and Talking Book Library of Northern California at: http://btbl.ca.gov