公平教育联络如何帮助解决特殊教育冲突的两个故事

| 2022 年 7 月 11 日 | 宣传和法律, 中国人, 教育, 资源, 西班牙语

摘自 公正的教育联络服务如何帮助教育领导者有效管理与特殊教育相关的冲突 作者:Rhea Settles,Ed.D.,M.NCRP 和 Odilla Sidime,JD,发表在《领导与指导杂志》,2021 年秋季

案例研究:DJ

在担任促进者和第三方顾问的公正教育联络之前
DJ 是一位有音乐天赋的 11 岁拉丁裔男性,患有自闭症和一些身体限制。他的母亲 E 女士相信他的潜力,并不断倡导她儿子的教育权利。在这种情况下,E 女士要求 DJ 留在同一个 5 年级,这样他就可以实现特定的学习目标,提高他的执行功能和自我宣传能力。
然而,校长 N 女士认为 DJ 永远不会达到年级标准或获得文凭;于是,她决定与同龄人一起将 DJ 提升到中学。 E 女士向助理总监上诉校长的决定,但当他支持 N 女士时感到失望。作为回应,E 女士提出了正当程序投诉,但学区拒绝在保留问题上让步。最终,E 女士让步了,DJ 被提拔了。

不幸的是,在 DJ 上中学的第一年,E 女士和学校特工之间的冲突再次发生。 E 女士使用她的健康保险为学区免费提供浴室支持服务;然后要求特殊教育主管 L 先生允许服务提供商在学校现场与 DJ 合作。虽然 L 先生自称关心学生,但他更倾向于限制服务。因此,L 先生没有与 E 女士讨论这个问题,也没有在学区法律部门的建议下,拒绝了该请求。被否认的 E 女士让 L 先生心烦意乱。作为回应,尽管 L 先生是指定的特殊教育主管,但他停止了与 E 女士的互动,因为他“感到被欺负”并且不希望与她有任何进一步的联系。

因为她曾在 IEP 团队中取得了公正教育联络员的成功,另一位特殊教育主管建议 IEP 团队咨询公正教育联络员。 E 女士、L 先生和其他 IEP 团队成员决定试一试。

在担任促进者和第三方冲突顾问的公正教育联络员之后
公正的教育联络员解开冲突并绘制了地图,确定了沟通差距,包括文化能力问题和阻碍 E 女士与学校代理之间合作的感知威胁。公正教育联络员还提供了沟通指导,帮助 E 女士了解她的措辞经常不清楚,语气可能被认为是冒犯性的,这导致学校代理人拒绝她的信息。
公正教育联络员帮助 L 先生了解未能与家长有效沟通或让他们参与决策如何被视为任意和不体谅。此外,公正的教育联络员帮助 IEP 团队制定了未来参与 DJ 的 IEP 的合作计划。由于多年的冲突积累,信任被侵蚀,沟通受到严重损害,IEP 团队同意使用公正的教育联络员就 DJ 的 IEP 流程进行咨询,并促进未来的 IEP 会议。

案例研究:学生 H

在担任调解员的公正教育联络员之前
学生 H 是一名中年黑人女孩,患有发育迟缓和癫痫症,影响了她的学习能力。

她被安排在一个轻中度特殊教育日班。 H 的家庭和学校代理人之间的冲突始于她 5 年级时,并导致提交了两次正当程序投诉。

经过两年多的诉讼和数万美元的花费,双方终于和解了。然而,H的家人与学校代理人之间受损的关系继续受到沟通不畅、缺乏信心以及对他人意见价值的不同看法的困扰。 H 的家人在她的祖母的带领下,认为学校代理人没有遵守 H 的 IEP 或和解协议,其中包括一项安全计划,要求 H 由一名受过医学培训的辅助专业人员支持,护送到浴室,坐在浴室的另一边从之前骚扰过她的男学生和家人的课堂上,每周都会收到进度报告,并及时通知H的医疗事故。

H 的特殊教育教师/个案经理 B 小姐表示她正在尽最大努力满足 H 的需求。 B 小姐认识到,作为一名一年级教师,她仍在学习特殊教育规则和程序。她承认“仍在弄清楚如何在 IEP 中做所有事情”,并且不知道和解协议和安全计划。

B 小姐还报告说对祖母的即兴教室访问感到害怕。由于之前的交火,校长拒绝与H的家人有任何联系,并指派新聘用的副校长N女士处理此案。 N 女士解释说,她的职责仅限于在 IEP 会议期间或应她的要求支持 B 小姐;因此,她不知道 H 的 IEP 的“细节”,也不知道和解协议和安全计划,直到家人对某些违规行为发表意见。

前一年担任副校长且没有特殊教育经验的特殊教育主管L先生承认,他从未审查过和解协议或安全计划,对家校冲突知之甚少,因为他通常参加对学校场地问题采取不干涉的方法。尽管如此,L 先生表示他认为 H 的家人正在贬低学校教职员工和管理人员的努力和承诺。


在担任调解员的公正教育联络员之后
经过两年多的冲突升级,IEP 团队与一名公正的教育联络员签约,以协助解决他们之间持续存在的冲突。在最初的案例开发过程中,公正教育联络员投入了三十多个小时采访家庭成员、学校代理和相关服务提供者;在召开两次调解会议之前审查文件并找出冲突。家庭和学校代理人之间的关系受到沟通不畅、资源限制、不信任、解决问题的能力不足以及对 H 的教育需求的不同看法的困扰(Lake & Billingsley,2000)。

但在公正教育联络员调解的短短四个小时内,各方解决了所有悬而未决的问题。由于过去的实施问题和严重的关系损害导致缺乏信心,IEP 团队同意让公正的教育联络员继续提供第三方咨询以管理未来的冲突和 IEP 促进以有效解决不断升级的冲突。

阅读本研究论文的续篇: 公正的教育联络服务如何帮助教育领导者有效管理与特殊教育相关的冲突 作者:Rhea Settles,Ed.D.,M.NCRP 和 Odilla Sidime,JD,发表在《领导与指导杂志》,2021 年秋季


这对 SFUSD 的学生看护人意味着什么?

您知道我们学区为家庭提供免费的公正教育调解吗?如果您的 IEP 团队遇到无法解决的冲突,请联系替代性争议解决项目经理 Adriana Aro,电话: [email protected] 您可以在以下网址了解有关替代性争议解决 (ADR) 的更多信息 https://www.sfusd.edu/special-education-adr 或在支持家庭的 ADR 研讨会的这些演示幻灯片中。

点击这里查看演示文稿

Two Stories of How An Impartial Education Liaison Can Help with Special Education Conflicts

by | Jul 11, 2022 | Advocacy and Legal, Chinese, Education, Resource, Spanish

Excerpt from How an Impartial Education Liaison Service Helps Education Leaders Effectively Manage Special Education-Related Conflict By Rhea Settles, Ed.D., M.NCRP and Odilla Sidime, J.D. published in Journal for Leadership and Instruction, Fall 2021

Case Study: DJ

Before Impartial Education Liaison Engaged as a Facilitator and Third-Party Consultant
DJ was a musically gifted 11-year-old Latino male with autism and some physical limitations. His mother, Ms. E believed in his potential and continually advocated for her son’s educational entitlements. In this instance, Ms. E requested that DJ be retained in the same 5th class so he could achieve specific learning goals, improve his executive functioning and self-advocacy skills.
However, the School Principal Ms. N believed DJ would never meet grade-level standards or earn a diploma; so, she decided to promote DJ to middle school with his peers. Ms. E appealed the principal’s decision to the assistant superintendent only to be disappointed when he sided with Ms. N. In response, Ms. E filed a due process complaint but the district refused to budge on the issue of retention. Eventually, Ms. E gave in and DJ was promoted.

Unfortunately, conflict between Ms. E and school agents reoccurred during DJ’s first year in middle school. Ms. E used her health insurance to fund bathroom support services at no cost to the district; then asked Special Education Supervisor Mr. L to permit the service provider to work with DJ at the school site. Although Mr. L professed to care about the students, he expressed a preference for limiting services. So, without discussing the issue with Ms. E and at the advice of the district’s legal department, Mr. L denied the request. Upset by the denial, Ms. E gave Mr. L a piece of her mind. In response and despite being the assigned special education supervisor, Mr. L ceased interaction with Ms. E because he “felt bullied” and did not wish to have any further contact with her.

Because she had been on IEP teams that had success with Impartial Education Liaisons, another special education supervisor suggested the IEP team consult an Impartial Education Liaison. Ms. E, Mr. L and the other IEP team members decided to give it a try.

After Impartial Education Liaison Engaged as a Facilitator and Third-Party Conflict Consultant
The Impartial Education Liaison unpacked and mapped the conflict, identified communication gaps including cultural competency issues and perceived threats that were impeding collaboration between Ms. E and school agents. The Impartial Education Liaison also furnished communication coaching to help Ms. E see how her word-choice was often unclear and tone could be considered offensive which caused the school agents to reject her message.
The Impartial Education Liaison helped Mr. L understand how failing to effectively communicate with parents or involve them in decision-making could be perceived as arbitrary and inconsiderate. In addition, the Impartial Education Liaison helped the IEP team develop a partnership plan for future engagements about DJ’s IEP. Because the conflict had built up over multiple years, trust was eroded and communication was significantly impaired, the IEP team agreed to use an Impartial Education Liaison to consult on DJ’s IEP process and facilitate future IEP meetings.

Case Study: Student H

Before Impartial Education Liaison Engaged as a Mediator
Student H was a middle-school-aged Black girl with developmental delays and a seizure disorder that impacted her ability to access learning.

She was placed in a mild-moderate special education day class. Conflict between H’s family and school agents started when she was in the 5th grade and resulted in the filing of two due process complaints.

After over two years in litigation and tens of-thousands of dollars spent, the parties finally settled. However, the damaged relationship between H’s family and school agents continued to be plagued by ineffective communication, lack of faith and different views about the value of other’s input. H’s family, led by her grandmother, believed the school agents were not complying with H’s IEP or the settlement agreement which included a safety plan that required H be supported by a medically trained paraprofessional, escorted to the bathroom, seated on the other side of the classroom from the male students who had harassed her previously and the family received weekly progress reports and timely notification about H’s medical incidents.

H’s Special Education Teacher/Case Manager Miss B stated she was doing her best to meet H’s needs. Miss B recognized that as a first-year teacher she was still learning about special education rules and procedures. She admitted “still figuring out how to do everything in the IEP” and being unaware of the settlement agreement and safety plan.

Miss B also reported feeling intimidated by the grandmother’s impromptu classroom visits. Due to prior heated engagements, the school principal refused to have any contact with H’s family and assigned the newly hired Assistant Principal Ms. N to the case. Ms. N explained that her role was limited to supporting Miss B during IEP meetings or at her request; so, she did not “know the specifics” of H’s IEP and did not know about the settlement agreement and safety plan until the family became vocal about certain violations.

The Special Education Supervisor Mr. L who had been an assistant principal the prior year and had no experience in special education, admitted he had never reviewed the settlement agreement or safety plan and had very little knowledge about the family-school conflict because he generally took a hands-off approach to school site issues. Nevertheless, Mr. L stated his belief that H’s family was devaluing the efforts and commitment of the school staff and administrators.


After Impartial Education Liaison Engaged as a Mediator
After more than two years of escalating conflict, the IEP team contracted an Impartial Education Liaison to assist with addressing the ongoing conflict amongst them. During initial case development, the Impartial Education Liaison invested more than thirty hours interviewing family members, school agents and related service providers; reviewing documents and mapping out the conflict before convening the two mediated sessions. The relationship between the family and school agents was beleaguered by miscommunication, resource constraints, distrust, inadequate problem-solving skills and disparate opinions about H’s education needs (Lake & Billingsley, 2000).

But during just four hours mediated by an Impartial Education Liaison, the parties resolved all pending issues. Given a lack of faith due to past implementation problems and severe relationship damage, the IEP team agreed to have an Impartial Education Liaison continue to provide third party consultation to manage future conflict and IEP facilitation to effectively address escalating conflict.

Read the continuation of this research paper at How an Impartial Education Liaison Service Helps Education Leaders Effectively Manage Special Education-Related Conflict By Rhea Settles, Ed.D., M.NCRP and Odilla Sidime, J.D. published in Journal for Leadership and Instruction, Fall 2021


What does this mean for caregivers of students in SFUSD?

Did you know our district has free impartial education mediation available to family? If your IEP team is experiencing conflict they cannot solve, please contact Adriana Aro, Alternative Dispute Resolution Program Manager, at [email protected] You can learn more about Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) at https://www.sfusd.edu/special-education-adr or in these presentation slides from an ADR Workshop at Support for Families.

Click here to see the presentation